Moving in a new direction…

So, I’ve decided to try my hand at something new.

Generally speaking I’ve laways been more at home with pencils or pen and ink, confident in definite lines and penstrokes. I like working in black and white, like spending time slowly cross-hatching or filling in tiny black lines that eventually coalesce into deeper, darker shadows. I draw cartoons mostly, mostly monsters.

But I fancy a change – it’s as good as a rest after all – and I have started painting. Acrylic on Canvas. And it’s fun! Swathes of colour, layer on layer, building texture – it’s completely different to how I usually work and I’m definitely enjoying the novelty.

So here is the first fruits of my labour, a stormy seascape. I’d love to see what anyone thinks so please let me know!

stormy-full

http://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/Huwdles

Leave a Reply

